top of page
Search
  • inkamkeranen

Art(ist)?

In this post I wanted to give my friend, Felicia, free hands to write about a topic we discussed a while ago. We found ourselves asking questions like

’What is art, and what can be seen/felt as art?’

’What makes someone an artist in your eyes?’

It was a very interesting discussion and we shared a lot of similar opinions and thoughts. I listened to Felicia and she really described, what I hadn’t been able to put into words. That is why I wanted her to write it down and share her wisdom with us, which she was kind enough to do.

So here it is. I hope you take your time and read it through, and if something resonates - please feel free to contact us and let’s talk and connect.


❤️,

Inka



Felicia:


“Everything is an artistic outlet, if you just let it be.”

I’m certainly not going to pick a fight with you & claim that my current perception of art is is the only correct one, considering “what is art?” is a question humans have asked themselves since the beginning of times. But, for the purpose of this little text & for my little philosophy of what it means to be an artist, you’re just going to have to roll with me here for a minute. In my eyes, art is honesty & art is presence. So, the way I view it, anything that is done with honesty and authenticity, by someone who is completely focused & present, is art. This view allows me to feel that everything in our lives can be an artistic outlet, if we just let it be that. Cooking, dancing, making our beds, sketching, riding the subway, locking the door… it can all be an act of creativity if we simply allow ourselves to be utterly & completely honest with who & what we are & if we are focused on & surrendering to what we are doing.

But then, when thinking of this, I realize that there are people who, without intentionally trying, do almost everything with honesty. There are people who are practically always present. Without any effort, that is just what comes natural to them. Inka, is, in my eyes, one of those people, and she among a few others are the inspiration for this little post. These people are very special to me, and in my eyes the fact that they are artists is in the very soul of them. It is hard to describe it with words, but how I see it is that they are artists within their bones.

Many other people, myself included, strive to be artists. And, optimistically, I believe people can succeed, and ultimately become true artists, constantly engaging honesty & focus in all aspects of their life. Maybe it is even our lives work, not our artwork itself, but the act of aspiring to live & breath like artists. And what beauty can be found in that strive itself.

However in my eyes there is something so fascinating about people who just effortlessly are artists. Honest & present in every action they do, from cutting an apple to performing on stage.

🫶🏼🫶🏼🫶🏼



A huge thank you Felicia for your words and for being my guest❤️🥹 I just have to add that I’m in awe, seeing her grow into the beautiful woman and artist that she is.

Her instagram @felicialandersson

110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Intimate but not private

The curves and the lines and the shapes and the lives and the scars and the absolute joy and priviledge of carrying it all. I now see mountains and volcanos growing here, where the grip has once been

The kind of air I walk on

The kind of air I walk on. Emptiness that doesn't feel hollow, rather like a space for opening and connecting the inner and the outer. The two worlds intertwined. Sudden growth of worlds. I take up mo

Hey you,

You are sensitive and soft. You feel things through and beyond your physical body, emotions take place and move you. I’ve heard you wonder if you feel too much, slam your heart into people and spaces

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page